Scholarships and bursaries

We offer scholarships and bursaries to recognise your academic achievements, and to support you if you are in financial need.


Scholarships are available as entry scholarships (awarded to new first year residents) and returning (awarded to returning students).

To apply:

  • meet the selection criteria
  • complete the online application form before the due date.

Scholarships are awarded at the beginning of each semester.

La Trobe's Scholarships index includes some accommodation-specific scholarships.

Bursary applications

A bursary is a sum of money given to a student in need to enable them to pursue their studies.

We offer bursaries to specifically assist with accommodation costs.
Bursary applications are means tested.

2018 Bursary Application Form

Elite Athlete Housing Scholarship

The Elite Athlete Housing Scholarship was established in 2017, in conjunction with La Trobe Accommodation Services, to assist student athletes with extenuating circumstances through the provision of on campus accommodation.

This scholarship was established to assist student athletes with extenuating circumstances to support them in their academic and sporting pursuits. In order to be eligible, athletes must demonstrate considerable hardship and/or circumstance that would otherwise prevent them from undertaking tertiary study and continuing elite level sport.

The scholarship provides a single room in a College or Halls of Residence at La Trobe University's Bundoora or Bendigo campus for the period of one university year.

The scholarship is available to two new and existing La Trobe students, who are eligible as members of the La Trobe Elite Athlete Program (LEAP).

To apply, request the application form from the Elite Athlete Program coordinator at

Applications must be submitted with supporting documentation outlining how the provision of on campus accommodation will benefit the athlete in their academic and sporting endeavours. Applicants must also apply to the La Trobe Elite Athlete Program.

Applications close 5pm Tuesday 30th January 2018.