The Council is the governing body of the University, established by the La Trobe University Act 1964. It is chaired by the Chancellor, Hon John Brumby AO.

The Council’s central role is to identify the distinctive character of the institution, to plan strategically and to ensure that the University responds to the wider social context in which it operates.

Refer to the Council website for more detailed information regarding the Councils composition, membership, powers and responsibilities, election regulations and terms and conditions of office.