

La Trobe University Academic Board RESEARCH AND GRADUATE STUDIES COMMITTEE

Establishment

The committee was established in December 1990 (*Academic Board minute 263.5.1*). For powers refer to Statute 7 – The Academic Board, Section 2 (1)(a)-(e),(h). Constitution and terms of reference revised and approved 8 October 2014 (*min ref. 476.4.2, AB14/146(M*)). Revisions approved by Academic Board 11 May 2016 (*min.ref 487.3.5 (AB16/49(M)),* 8 March 2017 (*min ref 494.4.3, AB17/38(M)*), 8 November 2017 (min. ref. *500.3.5 (AB17/127(M)), 13 March 2019 (min.ref. 510.9.3 (AB19/18(M)), 10* February 2021 (*min ref 525.9, AB21/10(M)),* 9 February 2022 [*min ref 536.10 (AB22-16(M)*], and 16 November 2022 [*min ref 581.8 (AB22-78(M)*] and by Academic Board Executive Committee on 13 May 2020 (*min.ref. 28.6.3*) and 21 April 2021 (*min ref 55.3, ABEC21/20(M)*).

Membership

Composition		Member	Appointment status
Α	Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Industry Engagement) (Chair)	Professor Chris Pakes	Ex-Officio
В	Senior Academic nominated by Academic Board (Deputy Chair)	Professor Daswin De Silva	Nominated
С	Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Capability)	Professor Ashley Franks	Ex-Officio
D	Pro Vice-Chancellor (Graduate and Global Research)	Associate Professor Dan Bendrups Professor Coral Warr	Ex-Officio
Ε	University Librarian or nominee	David Groenewegen	Ex-Officio
F	Senior Indigenous researcher nominated by Academic Board	Dr Ryan O'Callaghan	Nominated
G	Six academic staff members, nominated by Academic Board on the basis of experience in research or ethics, and including at least one person at non-professorial level	Professor Travis Beddoe Associate Professor Philippe Chouinard Professor Amanda Cooklin Associate Professor Clare MacMahon Associate Professor Kerstin Steiner Dr Virgina Dickson-Swift	Nominated
J	Two candidates nominated via the Graduate Researchers Team (with the LTSU Postgraduate officer as named alternative)	Natalie Klukowski Samuel Liwei Leong	Nominated Nominated
ĸ	One Indigenous graduate research candidate nominated by Academic Board	ТВС	Nominated
L	Chairs of RGSC sub-committees		
	Animal Ethics Committee	Dr Julie Bellamy	Ex-Officio
	Human Ethics Research Committee	Professor Richard Gray	Ex-Officio
	La Trobe University Institutional Biosafety Committee	Professor Brian Smith	Ex-Officio
	Board of Graduate Research	Associate Professor Dan Bendrups	Ex-Officio
Μ	Executive Director, Research Office	Alistair Duncan	Ex-Officio



Term of office Three years for category G. One year for categories J and K.

Role / Terms of reference

Purpose

To consider and advise the Academic Board on:

Terms of reference

- 1. The development, adoption, implementation and review of relevant policies, procedures and guidelines relating to research and the conduct of research including matters of research integrity, publications, ethics of human and animal experimentation, research consultancies, intellectual property, e-Research.
- 2. The development, adoption, implementation and review of relevant policies, procedures and guidelines relating to research training, including policies relating to graduate research candidature, support and supervision.
- 3. The development and implementation of the University's Research Strategy.
- 4. Monitoring quality and standards in relation to research and research training, and ethics approvals.
- 5. Developments in external research policy and funding and compliance with external requirements such as the Higher Education Standards Framework and the Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research.
- 6. The establishment, disestablishment and renewal of Research Centres and Institutes within the University.
- 7. Applications for higher doctorates (e.g. Doctor of Laws, Doctor of Letters (D.Litt) and Doctor of Science (D.Sc.)).
- 8. Receipt of advice from its sub-committees on matters specified in their respective Terms of Reference.
 - Animal Ethics Committee
 - Board of Graduate Research
 - Human Ethics Research Committee
 - La Trobe Institutional Biosafety Committee
 - Higher Doctorates Committee

Deputy Chair

The Deputy Chair, in the absence of the Chair, will assume the same rights and responsibilities accorded to the Chair, including attendance at Academic Board meetings to speak to the Report of the Committee.

Reporting

To Academic Board after each meeting.

Quorum

Half of the membership plus one.

Frequency of meetings

Six meetings per year (or as required)



List of any sub-committees

- Animal Ethics Committee
- Board of Graduate Research
- Human Ethics Research Committee
- La Trobe Institutional Biosafety Committee
- Higher Doctorates Committee

Secretariat

Governance.

Contact person and phone / email

Sonia Nelson Senior Executive Officer Tel: 03 9479 5268 Email: <u>rgsc@latrobe.edu.au</u>