Research integrity

Best practice in research at Australian universities is governed by the Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research 2007 – which provides an understanding of responsible research practices.

The Code of Conduct is in two parts:

  • Part A: describes the principles of research integrity and the responsibilities of institutions and researchers
  • Part B: offers a framework for managing allegations of a research breach or a case of research misconduct.

Support

Use our new Research Self Review Tool (RSRT) [PDF 840KB] and Support Manual [PDF 521KB] to assess your research project's compliance against the Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research 2007.

Visit La Trobe's Policy Library portal for all policies related to research integrity and ethics. You can also find more ethics resources at Ethics, Biosafety and Integrity.

Academic integrity for researchers and iThenticate

Find more information about managing self-citation, avoiding referencing errors, and using the text-matching tool iThenticate.

Research Integrity Advisors

La Trobe is committed to developing a vibrant research culture that fosters world quality research. Supporting researchers to build and maintain excellent research careers is part of this commitment.

Research Integrity Advisors (RIAs) are an integral part of the Future Ready framework. As advocates of responsible research practice, they provide a first point of contact and informal assistance to other members of the La Trobe community who seek advice about a research conduct concern or are considering whether to make an allegation of research misconduct.

RIAs are senior researchers who are familiar with accepted research practices, have knowledge of University policies and management structures and are available to assist anyone seeking advice about responsible research practice.

RIAs can provide information on the choices open to a concerned person before action is taken on a research conduct matter but they do not investigate issues brought to their attention and do not become involved in the processes that follow on from the advice they provide.

Contact your Research Integrity Advisor


College of Science, Health and Engineering (SHE)


Animal Plant and Soil Sciences

Professor Jim Whelan - j.whelan@latrobe.edu.au
T: (03) 9032 7488

Molecular Sciences

Dr Mark Hulett - m.hulett@latrobe.edu.au
T: (03) 9479 6567

La Trobe Rural Health School

Professor Teresa Iacono - t.iacono@latrobe.edu.au
T: (03) 5448 9110

Mathematics and Statistics

Professor Philip Broadbridge - P.Broadbridge@latrobe.edu.au
T: (03) 9479 3714

Nursing & Midwifery

Dr Virginia Lewis - v.lewis@latrobe.edu.au
T: (03) 9479 3924

Psychology & Counselling

Professor Sheila Crewther - s.crewther@latrobe.edu.au
T: (03) 9479 2290

College of Arts, Social Sciences and Commerce (ASSC)


Business and Management

Professor Timothy Marjoribanks - t.marjoribanks@latrobe.edu.au
T: (03) 9479 3124

Creative Arts and English

Professor Susan Thomas - s.thomas@latrobe.edu.au
T: (03) 9479 2392

Education

Professor Margaret Robertson - m.robertson@latrobe.edu.au
T: (03) 9479 5616

Humanities

Professor Susan Martin - s.martin@latrobe.edu.au
T: (03) 9479 1205

Social Science

Professor Nick Bisley - n.bisley@latrobe.edu.au
T: (03) 9479 2692

La Trobe Graduate Research School

Associate Professor Chris Pakes - c.pakes@latrobe.edu.au
T: (03) 9479 1485

Dr Dan Bendrups - d.bendrups@latrobe.edu.au
T: (03) 5444 7004

Things to know about Research Integrity Advisors

Research Integrity Advisors (RIAs):

  • are aware of the principles and responsibilities of researchers and institutions as outlined in the Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research
  • are able to offer advice about a research conduct concern and matters relevant to the Code of Conduct and associated University policies
  • ensure your discussion remains confidential and will exercise discretion relating to any concerns or issues you raise in seeking their assistance and advice
  • have a responsibility, as do all La Trobe staff, to report an incident when they deem it to be in the best interest of the University to do so.
  • can assist you in analysing a research related concern and clarifying the issues that exist. It may be appropriate to refer you to another University department, such as Equality and Diversity
  • can help you to consider options for addressing your research concerns and issues
  • are not permitted to offer advice if they have a conflict of interest with a specific situation. In such a case, another RIA will be asked to assist you with your research related matter
  • will not intercede on behalf of a specific person or research project
  • will not make contact with a person who is suspected of causing a research breach or implicated in a misconduct allegation
  • will not take part in investigating or assessing an allegation of research misconduct
  • will provide information to the Ethics and Integrity Manager about the number and types of enquiries they receive annually. This information assists with the development of research training and support resources.

Discussing a research integrity concern is not limited to contacting a Research Integrity Advisor. Questions relating to responsible research practice can also be discussed confidentially by contacting: researchintegrity@latrobe.edu.au

Training

An on-line training module is available to help you understand the Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research. This training module is highly recommended for all researchers and research trainees new to La Trobe. To access the training module:

  1. Log in to La Trobe University LMS.
  2. Once logged-in, select Course: EIU_M1 - Module 1: Conduct of Research

Resources

Records retention

Information outlining the length of time you are required to retain different documents.

Enquiries

Research Integrity Unit staff are available to present seminars or workshops on research ethics and integrity for your department or research group upon request.

For enquiries regarding research integrity:

Ph: 03 9479 5583
E: researchintegrity@latrobe.edu.au

Feedback and Complaints

If you wish to provide general feedback on any aspect of Research Integrity at La Trobe University, you can either:

If you wish to make a complaint about the conduct of a research project by La Trobe University or about a researcher, please either:

Please ensure you indicate whether you would like us to follow up with you regarding your complaint or feedback.