Winning Entries 2017

Young Writers' Awards winners

The 2017 Young Writers’ Awards saw entries received from talented writers in Year 10 across Victoria and the boarder of NSW. All entries received were de-identified and then divided amongst distinguished La Trobe University alumni who judged the Awards. These judges have careers as published authors, educators or have led long and distinguished careers in education.

The judges were impressed by the quality of the entries and wish to congratulate all students and encourage them to continue writing.

Congratulations to this year's winners:

First Prize

Victoria Attwood, Padua College, Rosebud for Rattled.

Second Prize

Antigony Haikalis, Lowther Hall Anglican Grammar School for Comatose .

Third Prize

Alexandra Webb, Mentone Girls' Secondary College for Into The Jaws.

Highly Commended

Crystal Choo, Melbourne Girls' College for Ad Astra Per Aspera.

Meg Funston, Melbourne Girls' College for Big Girls Can't Fly.

Iman Ibrahim, Epping Secondary College for The Road of Rebirth.

Clementine Mcnabb, Methodist Ladies' College for On the Road.

Willow Plex, Benalla P-12 College for A Journey of Selflessness, Love and Roads.

Annabelle Rose Saville, Viewbank College for The Roads We Chose.

Dijana Smoljko, Catholic Regional College North Keilor for The Map Of My World.

Their entries can be read in full in the Young Writers' Awards Anthology 2017 [PDF 437KB]