La Trobe academic expert list for summer

La Trobe University has academic experts, available to talk to the media during the festive season/summer holidays on the following topics (please note the University is shut December 22 to January 2):

DIET: Avoiding a Christmas Day blowout, New Year diet resolutions etc.

Catherine Itsiopoulos, Professor of Dietetics and Human Nutrition, Ph: 0411 805 223 E: C.Itsiopoulos@latrobe.edu.au

Emma Stirling, Senior Lecturer of Dietetics and Human Nutrition, Ph: 0413 586 073 E: e.stirling@latrobe.edu.au

ALCOHOL: Trends in alcohol consumption and harms during the festive season.

Dr Michael Livingston, Centre for Alcohol Policy Research, Ph: 0411 662 525 E: m.livingston@latrobe.edu.au

WORK LIFE BALANCE: The importance of recharging your batteries during the Christmas period

Dr Amanda Cooklin, Judith Lumley Centre, La Trobe University Ph:  E: a.cooklin@latrobe.edu.au Ph: 0402 338 812

EXERCISE: Fitness resolutions in the New Year.

Dr Christian John Barton La Trobe Sport and Exercise Medicine Research Centre Ph: 0403 012 914 E: c.barton@latrobe.edu.au

RELIGION: Christianity, Islam.

Emeritus Professor Joseph Camilleri E: J.Camilleri@latrobe.edu.au Ph: 0448 002 483.

BUSHFIRES: Bushfire season, risk areas.

Professor of Life Sciences, Mike Clarke. E: m.clarke@latrobe.edu.au Ph: 0427 368 851.

SHOPPING/SALES/CONSUMERISM/TOURISM: Shopping and sales as well as consumerism and tourism.

Professor Gillian Sullivan Mort. E: g.sullivan-mort@latrobe.edu.au Ph: 0421 400 200.

GAMBLING: Research Officer, Community and Clinical Allied Health, Kathleen Maltzahn. E: k.maltzahn@latrobe.edu.au Ph: 0408 142 155.

FAMILY CONFLICT: Lecturer, La Trobe Law School, Hannah Robert, E: h.robert@latrobe.edu.au Ph: 0419 667 633.

Media contact: Sally Heppleston – s.heppleston@latrobe.edu.au - 9479 5353 / 0408 556 018

Find an expert

Search our experts database.