Previous Events

The Department presents a series of regular colloquiums and seminars, engaging with universities and industry bodies around the world.

Friday 26 May 12:00pm

Starting with a stable subordinator, the sequence of ordered jumps up till time 1, omitting the r largest of them, and taken as proportions of their sum defines a 2-parameter distribution on the infinite dimensional simplex.

Friday 12 May 12:00pm

Wearable sensor data acquisition and computing has the potential to be a revolution in public health, for they provide much more accurate measurement across period of time.

Friday 21 April 12:00pm

Joint work with Antoine Deleforge, Radu Horaud and Emeline Perthame.

Friday 24 March 12:00pm

Statistics colloquium

Friday 17 March 12:00pm

General Semi-Markovian Modelling of Limit Order Books

Thursday 16 March 12:00pm

Markov chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) algorithms, such as the Metropolis Algorithm and the Gibbs Sampler, are extremely useful and popular for approximately sampling from complicated probability distributions through repeated randomness. This talk will use simple graphical simulations to explain how these algorithms work, and why they are so useful.

Thursday 01 December 10:00am

Preconference talks with Malathi Sajeewani Imiyage Dona and Rehanna Molly Mainzer

Friday 25 November 12:00pm

Come and hear from Professor P.J. Brockwell

Wednesday 23 November 09:30am

Confirmation talks by first year research students.

Friday 07 October 12:00pm

Dr Alec Stephenson (CSIRO, Melbourne, and Swinburne University)

Friday 16 September 12:00pm

Heavy tailed distributions are of considerable importance in modelling a wide range of phenomena in finance geology, hydrology, physics, queuing theory and telecommunication.