La Trobe mooting takes on the world (Issue 9, 2012)

Moot team

Moot teamLa Trobe Law School’s mooting team has ranked highest in Australia after competing in the Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot in Hong Kong, an event described as the ‘Legal Olympics’.

Consolidating La Trobe University's international reputation as a law school that moots at the highest levels, the La Trobe Law School team reached the semi-finals of the Vis (East) International Commercial Arbitration Moot Competition in Hong Kong. They placed 3rd out of 90 universities that came from all around the world to compete, including prestigious schools such as Harvard and Freiburg. The team was the highest ranking Australian law school; other Australian universities that competed included Deakin, Griffith and Bond.
La Trobe Law School’s mooting team continued its success in the Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot in Vienna where it ranked second highest in Australia. The team reached the finals and placed in the top 10 per cent of the 285 Law Schools from 71 countries competing in Vienna. 
La Trobe Law School’s mooting coach Magda Karagiannakis, is excited by their success.
‘The Vis Moot is the closest thing to legal Olympics that exists,’ says Ms Karagiannakis.

‘We were the highest ranking and then the second highest ranking Australian Law School in each competition – this is a tremendous result.’
In Hong Kong, La Trobe’s oralists were recognised for their excellent advocacy with both Paul Bekier and Eric Dober receiving honourable mentions for their advocacy throughout the competition.  
Main advocates Lauren Burke and Nico Baarlink excelled in what was a very difficult competition involving more than 1000 law students from all around the world.
‘Through mooting, our international team has developed written and oral advocacy skills, learnt the value of team work and have networked with lawyers, judges and academics from all around the world.  
‘It is a real pleasure to coach such a talented and self motivated group,’ says Ms Karagiannakis.   
Overall, the competitions have been an outstanding educational experience for the La Trobe Law School team consisting of Paul Bekier, Eric Dober, Nico Baarlink, Lauren Burke, Andrew Vincent and Satu Aho.
To watch the moot court in session, visit