Crown Prince of Perlis honoured


The Crown Prince with La Trobe University representatives: Professor Judgutt (Jack) Singh, Chancellor Silvia Walton, Professor John Rosenberg, and Professor Brian McGaw

One of Australia’s most high-profile Malaysian graduates, HRH the Crown Prince of Perlis, was awarded an honorary doctorate from La Trobe University at a special ceremony held in Kuala Lumpur on Monday, 1 November 2010.

Tuanku Syed Faizuddin Putra graduated from La Trobe University in 1989 with a Bachelor of Economics degree before pursuing a career with Malaysia Airlines, where he rose to the position of Area Manager.

He is also the inaugural Chancellor of the Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP), and the Chairman of the Tuanku Syed Putra Foundation, a charitable organisation which is active in promoting education for the youth of Perlis.

La Trobe University Chancellor Mrs Sylvia Walton AO, who was in Malaysia to confer the honour, says that as catalyst and Royal Patron of La Trobe’s Alumni Association in Malaysia – Persatuan Alumni La Trobe University Malaysia (PALTUM) – the Crown Prince has shown great pride in his links with La Trobe.

‘His active involvement in the work of the Malaysian Alumni Chapter has ensured its continued vibrancy, a role he and his wife – also a La Trobe graduate – have carried out with personal enthusiasm,’ said Mrs Walton.

In 2002 HRH Tuanku Syed Faizuddin Putra became the first Malaysian to be presented with the La Trobe University Distinguished Alumni Award.

Mrs Walton says the award also recognises the Crown Prince’s significant role in developing educational opportunities for Malaysia and the people of Perlis, in particular through the formation of the Universiti Malaysia Perlis.

‘In his role as Chancellor, he has forged and nourished co-operation between the Universiti Malaysia Perlis and La Trobe University which has resulted in an active collaborative relationship between the universities.’

The ceremony was also attended by the Chairperson of PALTUM, DYTM Raja Puan Muda Perlis, Tuanku Hajah Lailatul Shahreen Akashah, and another high profile distinguished alumni member, YAB Datuk Haji Ghani Othman, Chief Minister of Johor.