Honour roll

Outstanding contributions to student learning amongst our staff community are recognised annually by the University and by the Office of Learning and Teaching (OLT). The following La Trobe University staff have received University or national citations this year:

2015 Vice Chancellors Award for Teaching Excellence

  • Dr Suzane Vassallo
    For sustained commitment to innovation in the teaching of Orthoptics using peer assessment and case studies, resulting in outstanding improvements in indicators of student success and retention.

2015 La Trobe University Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

  • Mr Brendon Munge
    For excellence in designing and facilitating student-centred learning pedagogies that overcome barriers to engagement, access and achievement in an undergraduate outdoor education program.
  • Dr Deborah Jackson
    For excellence in the development, teaching and leadership of the College-wide Maths Skills Program, which provides mathematics support for students.
  • Dr Sarah Yang Spencer and Dr Nicholas Pawsey
    For implementing a student‐centred approach to engaging cost accounting students and integrating graduate capability assessment into the classroom.
  • Dr Sue Gillett
    For the development and implementation of an innovative creative industries partnership model of curriculum, embedding multidisciplinary arts subjects into unique cultural events in regional cities.
  • Dr Suzane Vassallo
    For transforming Orthoptic students' learning of optics through curriculum design grounded in Enquiry Based Learning and supported via authentic contemporary case studies and innovative multimedia. 
  • Dr Terri Meehan-Andrews
    Positive effect of student response systems and course specific case studies for teaching a 'common' Pathophysiology subject.
  • Ms Diane Hughes, Ms Anita Zacharias, Mr Brett Allender and Assoc. Prof. Rodney Green
    Innovative subject design in human Anatomy that provides flexible access to quality blended learning experiences and expanded degree offerings across multiple regional campuses.

2015 OLT Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

  • Dr Felicity Blackstock
    For pioneering the integration of simulation based learning in physiotherapy education at a national level which motivates, inspires and enriches students' development of professional skills.
  • Dr Brianna Julien & Dr Louise Lexis
    For developing a scaffolded capstone curriculum that supports physiology students to become scientists by using academic advisors, self-paced learning and authentic assessments in new ways.

Past award winners

See our past exemplars.