Our staff and students

The Centre comprises leading researchers from the disciplines of social work, speech pathology, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, psychology, public health, law and management. This diversity means a range of research approaches and service solutions are applied to the problems of disability, without the constraints of traditional disciplinary boundaries.

Academic staff

NamePositionPhoneEmail
Dr Sian AndersonResearch Fellow(03) 9479 5495Sian.Anderson@latrobe.edu.au
Tal Araten-BergmanLecturer, Community and Clinical Allied Heath(03) 9479 1598T.Araten-Bergman@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Timothy Bartram Professor of Human Resource Management(03) 9479 5837T.Bartram@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Christine BigbyProfessor and Director of Living with Disability Research Centre(03) 9479 1016C.Bigby@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Emma Bould Research Fellow(03) 9479 1556E.Bould@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Julie Beadle-BrownProfessor of Disability Studies(03) 9479 1065J.Beadle-Brown@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Anoo BhoptiLecturer, Discipline of Occupational Therapy(03) 9479 5667A.Bhopti@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Leeanne CareyProfessor and Discipline Lead in Occupational Therapy(03) 9479 5600L.Carey@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Marcella CarragherResearch Fellow, Speech Pathology  
Dr Jillian CavanaghSenior Lecturer, Management (03) 9479 2723j.cavanagh@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Nadine CameronResearch Fellow N.Cameron@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Emma CaruanaResearch Assistant E.Caruana@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Lisa ChaffeyResearch Fellow(03) 9479 5709L.Chaffey@latrobe.edu.au
Mr William CrispResearch Assistant W.Crisp@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Kate D'CruzLecturer, Discipline of Occupational Therapy(03) 9479 6576K.DCruz@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Hilary DavisSenior Research Fellow(03) 9479 1065H.Davis@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Michael DillonSenior Lecturer Prosthetics and Orthotics(03) 9479 5889Michael.Dillon@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Jacinta DouglasProfessor of Acquired Brain Injury, Living with Disability Research Centre Summer Foundation Chair, Living Well with Brain Injury(03) 9479 1797J.Douglas@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Shane EricksonLecturer, Speech Pathology(03) 9479 1838S.Erickson@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Lisa HamiltonTraining & Research Support Officer(03) 9479 5847L.Hamilton@latrobe.edu.au
Dr David HendersonResearch Fellow(03) 9479 6680D.Henderson@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Rebecca LeesonResearch Fellow(03) 9479 2225R.Leeson@latrobe.edu.au
Mr Lincoln HumphriesAssociate Research Fellow L.Humphries@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Teresa IaconoProfessor of Rural and Regional Allied Health(03) 5448 9110T.Iacono@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Pam KappelidesLecturer, Sport & Tourism(03) 9479 3899P.Kappelides@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Lucy KnoxLecturer & Research Fellow(03) 9479 3684L.Knox@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Robyn O'HalloranLecturer, Speech Pathology(03) 9479 1818R.OHalloran@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Jodi OakmanSenior Lecturer, Public Health(03) 9479 3235J.Oakman@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Jennifer OatesAssociate Professor, Discipline of Speech Pathology(03) 9479 1810J.Oates@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Darren O'DonovanSenior Lecturer, Law(03) 9479 1697D.oDonovan@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Ruth QuibellPostdoctoral Research Fellow(03) 9479 2008R.Quibell@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Miranda RoseAssociate Professor, Speech Pathology(03) 9479 2088m.rose@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Tanya SerryLecturer, Discipline of Speech Pathology(03) 9479 1814T.Serry@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Andrea SimpsonSenior Lecturer, Audiology(03) 9479 1821A.Simpson@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Elizabeth SmithResearch fellow(03) 9479 1814E.Smith3@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Jo Spong  Research fellow (03) 9479 7573J.Spong@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Rwth StuckeySenior Lecturer, Public Health(03) 9479 5751R.Stuckey@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Magnus TidemanProfessor and Discipline lead in Social Work(03) 9479 2387M.Tideman@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Sophia TippingAssociate Research Fellow(03) 9479 5740S.Tipping@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Jennifer CleggAdjunct Professor 

Honorary associates

Name

Position

Phone

Email

Luke Bo’SherAdjunct Research Fellow  
Professor Jennifer CleggAdjunct Professor, University of Nottingham  
Professor Ellie FosseyAdjunct Professor03 9479 5660E.Fossey@latrobe.edu.au

Dr Chris Fyffe

Adjunct Professor

9479 1065

Christine.Fyffe@latrobe.edu.au

Dr Hilary JohnsonAdjunct Associate Professor  
Dr Natasha LaytonHonorary Research Fellow  
Dr Kristina SzönyiHonorary Research Fellow  
Dr George TaleporosAdjunct Senior Research Fellow  
Dr Jane TracyHonorary associate j.tracy@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Di WinklerAdjunct Associate Professor 

Administrative staff

NamePositionPhoneEmail
Ms Louise DixonSenior Administration Officer LTU & Summer Foundation9479 3826louise.dixon@latrobe.edu.au
Mr Ben PawsonMedia and communications9479 5693b.pawson@latrobe.edu.au

Higher degree students

Student

Supervisor/s

Project title

Riham AbdullahMiranda Rose (Co-supervisor Pranee Liamputtong)School-based speech pathology services in multicultural Australia: Speech pathologists' perceptions and practices of parent involvement
Danielle Ashley  
Michelle AttardMiranda Rose (Co-supervisors Leanne Togher, Jacinta Douglas)Improving quality of life in chronic aphasia: Reducing depression and increasing social connection and life participation through community apharia groups
Michelle BrowningChristine Bigby (Co-supervisor Jacinta Douglas)Models of supported decision making
Christopher BruceLeeanne CareyNovice Driving and ADHD: Impact of Risk-taking behaviour
Michelle Caldwell  
Jade Candice McEwenChristine Bigby (Co-supervisor Jacinta Douglas)A Comparative Study of English and Australian Disability Regulation Methods
Rahila ChristanTeressa IaconoDental  health services for children with intellectual disabilities in India
Michelle CimoliJennifer Oates (Co-supervisor Emma McLaughlin)An Evaluation of Inter-and Intra-Rater Reliability of Judgements Made Using Fibreoptic Endoscopic Evaluation of Swallowing (FEES) to Assess Swallowing Function in Patients Referred with Dysphagia
William CrispChristine Bigby (Co-supervisor Mary Whiteside)Do self directed approaches lead to greater self determination for people with intellectual disability?
Kate D'CruzJacinta Douglas (Co-supervisor Tanya SerryNarrative story-telling in acquired brain injury: Experiences of workshop participants and facilitators.
Nastaran DoroudEllie Fossey (Co-supervisor Tracy Fortune)Occupational choice in recovery for people experiencing persistent mental health issues
Melanie DrummondJacinta DouglasThe impact of anosmia following traumatic brain injury
Gemma DuffieldJacinta Douglas (Co-supervisor Robyn O'Halloran)Application of handheld technology to persons with severe traumatic brain injury.
Maya Menahemi FalkovMiranda Rose (Co-supervisor Shane Erickson)A comparison of intense and non-intense multi-modal aphasia therapy
Kate FittTeresa Iacono (Co-supervisors Janice Pascal and Robert Townsend – Federation University)Encounters with child welfare discourses: beginning practitioners and mothers with intellectual disability
Abby Foster  
Isobel HubbardLeanne CareyMechanisms underlying motor recovery and rehabilitation
Lincoln HumphreysChristine Bigby (Co-supervisor Teresa Iacono)The organisational context and leadership in disability accommodation services for people with an intellectual disability
Susan JacksonChristine BigbyThe Making of the National Disability Insurance Scheme: Nation Building in the 21st Century
Adam KauchkiJacinta Douglas (Co-supervisor Suzane Vassallo)A longitudinal investigation of visual scanning to emotional facial expressions in traumatic brain injury
Lucie LanyonMiranda Rose (Co-supervisor Linda Worrall)Measuring the impact of Communication Group participation on the psychosocial health of people living with aphasia
Lucy Lanyon  
Yeptain LeungJennifer OatesDevelopment of a comprehensive assessment tool for clinical use with transsexual individuals for voice and communication'
Kristy LoganTeresa Iacono (Co-supervisor David Trembath – Griffiths University)The use of aided language stimulation to develop expressive language and pragmatic functions in children with Autism Spectrum Disorder
Essie LowLeanne CareyThe neural basis of somatosensory rehabilitation after stroke
Claire LynchTracy Fortune (Co-supervisor Catherine Barrett)The clinical reasoning of occupational therapists in community health
Caitlin McDowellEllie Fossey (Co-supervisor Mary Kennedy-Jones)M. App. Sc Work adjustments to create supportive workplaces for workers with mental illness
Jade McEwan  
Belinda McleanLeanne CareyDiscovering the sense of touch: implications for development and rehabilitation for children with cerebral palsy
Jenna MacNab  
Margaret Mealings.Jacinta Douglas(Co-supervisor Prof John Olver, Epworth Hospital)Preparation at school following TBI
Elspeth MitchellLeanne CareyRoles for visual attention and functional connectivity in prediction and prognosis of recovery and rehabilitation post stroke
Amy MuirJacinta Douglas (Co-supervisors Robyn O'Halloran)A Prospective Three-Year Qualitative Investigation into the meaning of living with aphasia
Michaela Pascoe  
Elizabeth PearsonCarol McKinstry (Co-supervisor Meg Morris)Implementing guidelines for assessing cancer-related fatigue
John PierceMiranda RoseAn Investigation of the Determinants of Aphasia Treatment Dose Response in Aphasia
Margaret PozzebonJacinta Douglas (Co-supervisor Susan Block)Linguistic features of primary progressice aphasia
Claire QuilliamChristine Bigby (Co-supervisor Jacinta Douglas)Documentation in groups homes
Karen Roberts  
Gail Ritchie  
Priscila Rocha  
Bojan Sarkic  
Jasvinder SekhonMiranda Rose (Co-supervisors Jennifer Oates, Prof Ian Kneebone - University of Western Sydney)Addressing psychological well-being with mindfulness in people with post stroke aphasia
Kirstie Smith  
Kellie StaggTeresa Iacono (Co-supervisor Jacinta Douglas)M. App. Sc. Exploring the operationalization of person-centred practice in stroke rehabilitation
Sophia TippingChristine Bigby (Co-supervisor Mary Whiteside)Inclusion of people with intellectual disability in policy making
Russell UllahEllie FosseyOT with employment and disability
Barbara WolfendonLeanne Carey (Co-supervisor Jacinta Douglas)Activity Card Sort: review and revision to enhance application following stroke
Elizabeth Williams