Our staff and students

The Centre comprises leading researchers from the disciplines of social work, speech pathology, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, psychology, public health, law and management. This diversity means a range of research approaches and service solutions are applied to the problems of disability, without the constraints of traditional disciplinary boundaries.

Academic staff

NamePositionPhoneEmail
Dr Sian AndersonResearch Fellow(03) 9479 5495Sian.Anderson@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Timothy Bartram   (03) 9479 5837 t.bartram@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Christine Bigby Professor and Director of Living with Disability Research Centre (03) 9479 1016 c.bigby@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Emma Bould Research Fellow (03) 9479 1556 e.bould@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Julie Beadle-Brown Professor of Disability Studies (03) 9479 1065 J.Beadle-Brown@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Anoo Bhopti Lecturer, Discipline of Occupational Therapy (03) 9479 5667 A.Bhopti@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Nadine CameronResearch Fellow n.cameron@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Emma CaruanaResearch Assistant e.caruana@latrobe.edu.au
Mr William CrispResearch Assistant w.crisp@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Leeanne CareyProfessor and Discipline Lead in Occupational Therapy(03) 9479 5600L.Carey@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Kate D'Cruz Lecturer, Discipline of Occupational Therapy (03) 9479 6576 K.DCruz@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Hilary DavisSenior Research Fellow(03) 9479 1065h.davis@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Michael DillonSenior Lecturer Prosthetics and Orthotics(03) 9479 5889michael.dillon@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Jacinta Douglas Professor of Acquired Brain Injury, Living with Disability Research Centre Summer Foundation Chair, Living Well with Brain Injury (03) 9479 1797 j.douglas@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Shane EricksonLecturer(03) 9479 1838s.erickson@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Lisa Hamilton Training & Research Support Officer (03) 9479 5847 l.hamilton@latrobe.edu.au
Dr David Henderson Research Fellow (03) 9479 6680 d.henderson@latrobe.edu.au
Mr Lincoln HumphriesAssociate Research Fellow l.humphries@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Teresa Iacono Professor of Rural and Regional Allied Health (03) 5448 9110 t.iacono@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Lucy KnoxLecturer & Research Fellow(03) 9479 3684l.knox@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Bernice Mathisen Associate Professor, Discipline of Speech Pathology (03) 5448 9114 B.Mathisen@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Chris Migliorini Research Fellow(03) 9479 5650c.migliorini@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Robyn O'HalloranLecturer(03) 9479 1818R.OHalloran@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Jodi OakmanSenior Lecturer(03) 9479 3235J.Oakman@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Jennifer Oates Associate Professor, Discipline of Speech Pathology (03) 9479 1810 j.oates@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Darren O'DonovanSenior Lecturer(03) 9479 1697d.odonovan@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Ruth QuibellPostdoctoral Research Fellow(03) 9479 2008r.quibell@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Miranda RoseAssociate Professor(03) 9479 2088m.rose@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Tanya Serry Lecturer, Discipline of Speech Pathology (03) 9479 1814 t.serry@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Elizabeth SmithResearch fellow(03) 9479 1814E.Smith3@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Jo Spong   Research fellow  (03) 9479 7573 j.spong@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Magnus TidemanProfessor and Discipline lead in Social Work and Social Policy(03) 9479 2387M.Tideman@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Sophia TippingAssociate Research Fellow(03) 9479 5740s.tipping@latrobe.edu.au

Researchers

NameEmail
Dr Sian Andersonsian.anderson@latrobe.edu.au
Mr Phillip Brownphillip.brown@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Nadine Cameronn.cameron@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Emma Caruana e.caruana@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Diane Craigd.craig@latrobe.edu.au
Dr Hilary Davish.davis@latrobe.edu.au
Mr Lincoln Humphreysl.humphreys@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Natalie Pearcen.pearce@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Louise Phillipsl.phillips@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Leah Tangl.tang@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Sophia Tippings.tipping@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Silvia WarrenSilvia.Warren@latrobe.edu.au
Ms Erin Wilsonerin.wilson@latrobe.edu.au

Honorary associates

Name

Position

Phone

Email

Dr Chris Fyffe

Adjunct Professor

9479 1065

Christine.Fyffe@latrobe.edu.au

Professor Magnus Tideman

Adjunct Professor, University of Halmsted, Sweden

9479 1065

m.tideman@latrobe.edu.au

Dr Hilary Johnson

Adjunct Lecturer, Adjunct Associate Professor

9479 1802

h.johnson@latrobe.edu.au

Dr Jane TracyHonorary associate j.tracy@latrobe.edu.au
Professor Jennifer CleggAdjunct Professor  
Dr Di WinklerAdjunct Associate Professor  
Dr Natasha LaytonHonorary Research Fellow  
Luke Bo’SherAdjunct Research Fellow  
Dr George TaleporosAdjunct Senior Research Fellow 

Administrative staff

NamePositionPhoneEmail
Ms Louise DixonSenior Administration Officer LTU & Summer Foundation9479 3826louise.dixon@latrobe.edu.au
Mr Ben PawsonMedia and communications9479 5693b.pawson@latrobe.edu.au

Higher degree students

Student

Supervisor/s

Project title

Adam Kaucki

Jacinta Douglas (Co-supervisor Suzane Vassallo)

A longitudinal investigation of visual scanning to emotional facial expressions in traumatic brain injury

Alanna Bailey

Jacinta Douglas (Co-supervisor Robyn O'Halloran)

Visual & ocular processing deficits following traumatic brain injury

Amy Muir

Jacinta Douglas (Co-supervisors Robyn O'Halloran)

A Prospective Three-Year Qualitative Investigation into the meaning of living with aphasia

Barbara Wolfendon

Leanne Carey (Co-supervisor Jacinta Douglas)

Activity Card Sort: review and revision to enhance application following stroke

Belinda Mclean

Leanne Carey

Discovering the sense of touch: implications for development and rehabilitation for children with cerebral palsy

Caitlin McDowell

Ellie Fossey (Co-supervisor Mary Kennedy-Jones)

M. App. Sc Work adjustments to create supportive workplaces for workers with mental illness

Christopher Bruce

Leeanne Carey

Novice Driving and ADHD: Impact of Risk-taking behaviour

Claire Lynch

Tracy Fortune (Co-supervisor Catherine Barrett)

The clinical reasoning of occupational therapists in community health

Claire Quillam

Christine Bigby (Co-supervisor Jacinta Douglas)

Documentation in groups homes

Elizabeth Pearson

Carol McKinstry (Co-supervisor Meg Morris)

Implementing guidelines for assessing cancer-related fatigue

Elspeth Mitchell

Leanne Carey

Roles for visual attention and functional connectivity in prediction and prognosis of recovery and rehabilitation post stroke

Essie Low

Leanne Carey

The neural basis of somatosensory rehabilitation after stroke

Gemma Duffield

Jacinta Douglas (Co-supervisor Robyn O'Halloran)

Application of handheld technology to persons with severe traumatic brain injury.

Georgia Dacakis

Jennifer Oates (Co-supervisor Jacinta Douglas)

Assessing the everyday voice of transsexual individuals.

Isobel Hubbard

Leanne Carey

Mechanisms underlying motor recovery and rehabilitation

Jade Candice McEwen

Christine Bigby (Co-supervisor Jacinta Douglas)

A Comparative Study of English and Australian Disability Regulation Methods

Jasvinder Sekhon

Miranda Rose (Co-supervisors Jennifer Oates, Prof Ian Kneebone - University of Western Sydney)

Addressing psychological well-being with mindfulness in people with post stroke aphasia

Jess Stevens

Christine Bigby

Dip HRM Sibling relationships of adults with intellectual disability

John Pierce

Miranda Rose

An Investigation of the Determinants of Aphasia Treatment Dose Response in Aphasia

Kate D'Cruz

Jacinta Douglas (Co-supervisor Tanya Serry

Narrative story-telling in acquired brain injury: Experiences of workshop participants and facilitators.

Kate Fitt

Teresa Iacono (Co-supervisors Janice Pascal and Robert Townsend – Federation University)

Encounters with child welfare discourses: beginning practitioners and mothers with intellectual disability

Kate Noonan

Leanne Carey

Factors impacting on neural plasticity and recovery after stroke

Kellie Stagg

Teresa Iacono (Co-supervisor Jacinta Douglas)

M. App. Sc. Exploring the operationalization of person-centred practice in stroke rehabilitation

Kristy Logan

Teresa Iacono (Co-supervisor David Trembath – Griffiths University)

The use of aided language stimulation to develop expressive language and pragmatic functions in children with Autism Spectrum Disorder

Lincoln Humphreys

Christine Bigby (Co-supervisor Teresa Iacono)

The organisational context and leadership in disability accommodation services for people with an intellectual disability

Lucie Lanyon

Miranda Rose (Co-supervisor Linda Worrall)

Measuring the impact of Communication Group participation on the psychosocial health of people living with aphasia

Margaret Mealings.

Jacinta Douglas(Co-supervisor Prof John Olver, Epworth Hospital)

Preparation at school following TBI

Margaret Pozzebon

Jacinta Douglas (Co-supervisor Susan Block)

Linguistic features of primary progressice aphasia

Maya Menahemi Falkov

Miranda Rose (Co-supervisor Shane Erickson)

A comparison of intense and non-intense multi-modal aphasia therapy

Melanie Drummond

Jacinta Douglas

The impact of anosmia following traumatic brain injury

Michelle Attard

Miranda Rose (Co-supervisors Leanne Togher, Jacinta Douglas)

Improving quality of life in chronic aphasia: Reducing depression and increasing social connection and life participation through community apharia groups

Michelle Browning

Christine Bigby (Co-supervisor Jacinta Douglas)

Models of supported decision making

Michelle Cimoli

Jennifer Oates (Co-supervisor Emma McLaughlin)

An Evaluation of Inter-and Intra-Rater Reliability of Judgements Made Using Fibreoptic Endoscopic Evaluation of Swallowing (FEES) to Assess Swallowing Function in Patients Referred with Dysphagia

Nastaran Doroud

Ellie Fossey (Co-supervisor Tracy Fortune)

Occupational choice in recovery for people experiencing persistent mental health issues

Natalie Crothers

Teresa Iacono (Co-supervisors Suzanne Hodgkin and Liz Evans – University of New South Wales)

Pathways to care for adults with intellectual disability–a comparison study

Ondine Stachnowski

Christine Bigby

Dip HRB Supporting people with intellectual disability through grief and loss

Priscilla Ennals

Ellie Fossey(Co-supervisor Lindsey Howie)

Capable and different: A grounded theory of studying at university for students with mental ill-health

Rahila Christan

Teressa Iacono

Dental  health services for children with intellectual disabilities in India

Riham Abdullah

Miranda Rose (Co-supervisor Pranee Liamputtong)

School-based speech pathology services in multicultural Australia: Speech pathologists' perceptions and practices of parent involvement

Russell Ullah

Ellie Fossey

OT with employment and disability

S.M. Abul Bashar

Ellie Fossey (Co-supervisor Michael Dillon)

Return to work after amputation in Bangladesh

Sophia Tipping

Christine Bigby (Co-supervisor Mary Whiteside)

Inclusion of people with intellectual disability in policy making

Sue Jackson

Christine Bigby

The Making of the National Disability Insurance Scheme: Nation Building in the 21st Century

Tamara Tse

Jacinta Douglas (Co-supervisor Leanne Carey)

Participation after stroke, influence of personal desires, depressive symptoms, cognitive function, and the environment: A mixed methodology

Tina Scalzo

Jennifer Oates

Prevalence and predictors of voice problems in children

William Crisp

Christine Bigby (Co-supervisor Mary Whiteside)

Do self directed approaches lead to greater self determination for people with intellectual disability?

Yeptain Leung

Jennifer Oates

Development of a comprehensive assessment tool for clinical use with transsexual individuals for voice and communication'