Young Adult section

The Victorian Premier's Literary Awards were established in 1985 to commemorate the births of Vance and Nettie Palmer.  They award Australian writers of outstanding books in a variety of categories. From 1988 to 1995, the children's literature prize was the Alan Marshall Award, sponsored by Diabetes Australia. In 1996, a new sponsor and focus redirected this towards young adult writing (readership between 13 and 20) and it became The Sheaffer Pen Prize for Young Adult Fiction, the Cross Pen Prize from 1999 to 2000, the Herald-Sun Prize for Young Adult Fiction in 2001, and the Kraft Foods Prize for Young Adult Fiction in 2002. It is currently unsponsored.

More information is available from the Victorian Premier's Literary Awards pages at the State Library of Victoria

Year Author (Illustrator) Title
2005 Westerfield, Scott So Yesterday
2004 Lanagan, Margo Black Juice
2003 Metzenthen, David Wildlight: a journey
2002 McDonald, Meme & Boori Monty Pryor Njunjul the Sun
2001 Moloney, James Touch Me
2000 Barnes, Helen Killing Aurora
1999 Gwynne, Phillip Deadly, Unna?
1998 Clarke, Judith Night Train
1997 Jinks, Catherine Pagan's Scribe
1996 Hartnett, Sonia Sleeping Dogs
1995 Baillie, Alan Songman
1994 Dubosarsky, Ursula The White Guinea Pig
1993 Fienberg, Anna Ariel, Zed and the Secret of Life
1992 Nilsson, Eleanor The House Guest
1991 Crew, Gary Strange Objects
1990 Kidd, Diana Onion Tears
1989 MacDonald, Caroline The Lake at the End of the World
1988 Marsden, John So Much to Tell You
>HOME to AWARDS index

Page maintained by David Beagley  -  last updated 4 May 2006
Design concept by Michelle Perry, adapted and banners by Paul Morris 2004