The Dromkeen Medal is an annual award, initiated in 1982 and presented by the Governors of the Courtney Oldmeadow Childrenís Literature Foundation, based at the historic Dromkeen homestead. The award is made to an Australian citizen for recent work that makes a significant contribution to the appreciation and development of childrenís literature.  The Medal was designed by Robert Ingpen, a former Hans Christian Andersen medallist for illustration (and Dromkeen winner in 1989), and depicts the Dromkeen homestead, a sickle moon and boughs of wattle.

More information is available from the Dromkeen homestead pages

Winners of the medal are:

1982: Lu Rees - bookseller, author, Secretary and Life Member of the Canberra Fellowship of Australian Writers, first President and Life Member of the ACT Branch of the Children's Book Council, whose personal collection became the base of the Lu Rees Archive at the University of Canberra

1983: Maurice Saxby - the Grand Old Man ("steady on with the Old!!") of Australian children's literature.  He has provided immense academic depth and validity to the appreciation of children's literature as literature. 

1984: Patricia Wrightson - one of the finest writers in any genre Australia has produced.  Her Wirrun trilogy sets a hallmark for both fantasy and post-colonial writing

1985: Anne Bower Ingram - editor, publisher, collection compiler, she has been responsible for establishing the careers of many authors and illustrators

1986: Albert Ullin - the driving force for many years behind The Little Bookroom, an institution in the Victorian book trade, bringing top quality local and international titles to the public.

1987: Joan Phipson - a prolific author over three decades whose stories range from simple rural adventures through historical narratives to personal traumas, but always involve intricate explorations of character, motivation and relationships.

1988: Patricia Scott - has helped bring the traditional folk arts of oral storytelling and poetry back into the mainstream of literature through performance and publishing.

1989: Robert Ingpen - an illustrator with a larger international reputation than local one. Winner of the Hans Christian Andersen Medal, and brilliant portrayer of worlds on the fringe of our realities.

1990: Mem Fox - author, academic, critic, and creator of a whole new way of looking at the magic of Australia with Possum Magic.

1991: Robin Klein - an author who brings a clear human voice to all her work, whether it be historical, humorous, fantastic or frightening.

1992: Julie Vivas - an illustrator never afraid to push the boundaries of her art, and of the dogmatic prescriptions that try to limit children's awareness of their world.

1993: Alf Mappin - through his initiation and editing of the key journals Magpies, Papers: explorations into children's literature and Literature Base, he has created a firm critical and analytical base for Australian children's literature. 

1994: Agnes Nieuwenhuizen - determined, enthusiastic lobbyist and critic responsible for establishing the Australian Centre for Youth Literature at the Victorian State Library. 

1995: Jennifer Rowe - or is it Emily Rodda ... or is it both?  Author and editor who proves that prodigious talent will out itself, no matter what the name!

1996: Dr Belle Alderman   

1997: Colin Thiele - the author responsible, more than any other, for making the voice of regional and rural Australia heard through children's literature.  The sun on our stubble.

1998: Graeme Base - an illustrator of remarkable detail and precision, who also brings a sly sense of humour to his engrossing works.

1999: Barbara Ker Wilson

2000: Paul Jennings - probably the most popular author in Australia, whose quirky view on life has enraptured hordes of children (but rarely the parents and judges!!) and kept them reading.

2001: Julie Watts - Penguin's Children's Publisher who has been hugely instrumental in the careers of numerous authors and editors, and has brought some of the best recent literature to readers.

2002: Anne James - Outstanding illustrator in her own right, and co-director of "Books Illustrated" the bookshop and gallery which has promoted children's illustrators and literature hugely.

2003: Ivan Southall - a voice of integrity and power, whose adventure stories have examined the nature of challenge and personal strength for some five decades.  5 times CBC (Aust.) winner, Carnegie Medal (UK) and Phoenix Medal (US) winner.

2004: Margaret Hamilton - Publisher, CBC President, lecturer, writer of reference books, multi-talented enthusiast who has also worked tirelessly to preserve the heritage of Nutcote.

2005: Roland Harvey - Rolandís style is unique! Writing in whimsical and often quirky style, he both captures and captivates, resulting in the readerís exciting involvement in such diverse subjects as history, science, medicine and philosophy. One quickly becomes immersed in the topic, and those often reluctant to learn become involved. (from the award citation)

>HOME to AWARDS index

Page maintained by David Beagley  -  last updated 4 May 2006
Design concept by Michelle Perry, adapted and banners by Paul Morris © 2004