Past events

Thursday 08 February 05:30pm

Agatha Gothe- Snape, Carolyn Eskdale, Helen Grogan, Jessie Bullivant, Shannon Lyons. The gallery is more than a frame. More than an architectural setting. In Infrastructuralism, five artists produce and deliver work that ingratiates itself inside the physical system of the gallery. The exhibition exposes the hidden, neglected or secretive support structures that serve as platforms for the presentation of art objects. Presented across all spaces at LAI, the artworks marry humour with material awareness in a playful incursion into the nature of our cultural organisations. All the various facets that go into making up architecture, display, function and administration are brought into play.

Tuesday 06 February 12:00am

A fusion of process, presentation and form.

Thursday 18 January 05:30pm

Join 2016 Georges Mora Fellow, James Geurts as we celebrate the closing days of his exhibition Seismic Field at La Trobe Art Institute. During his LAI residency, Geurts initiated a dialogue between the LAI and the dynamics of the underlying earth, examining the relationship between geophysical forms and consciousness. The works are abstract measuring propositions, exploring these forces physically and symbolically. Geurts intervenes the processes of scanning and polaroid photography as site actions, letting weather, temperature, force and the pulse of the body disrupt the form and colour field, blurring the lines between geology and technological praxis. The works investigate seismic phenomena and cultural context, amplifying perceptual and physical thresholds of what is, literally, below our feet. Image: James Geurts' Seismic Field at La Trobe Art Institute. Photograph: Ian Hill, 2017.

Saturday 16 December 10:00am

Register now for our upcoming Change of Preference Advisory Day

Thursday 07 December 10:00am

Seismic Field examines the relationship between geophysical forms and consciousness, initiating a dialogue between the La Trobe Art Institute and the dynamics of the underlying earth.

Monday 27 November 12:00am

We warmly invite you to our 2017 Rural Health Conference "Showcasing La Trobe Rural Health School Research: a global focus through a local lens." 

Thursday 23 November 06:00pm

Celebrate with us as we acknowledge excellence in performance, participation and contribution to sport at the University.

Saturday 18 November 04:00pm

An outdoor celebration of art, music and 50 years of La Trobe University.

Thursday 16 November 06:30pm

1766 and All That! Winckelmann and the Study of Greek Vases

Thursday 02 November 12:30pm

Learn more about the La Trobe Accelerator Program, and meet the entrepreneurs who are currently accelerating their start-ups

Thursday 26 October 02:00pm

China Studies Research Centre Seminar Series

Wednesday 25 October 06:30pm

Facilitated by Professor Amalia Di Iorio, join Alana Johnson and a panel of community and industry leaders, to discuss gender equality, rural development and leadership.

Saturday 21 October 12:00am

Exhibition of selection of artwork from the La Trobe University Collections

Thursday 19 October 05:45pm

You are invited to the 20th annual La Trobe University Art History Alumni Rae Alexander Lecture. Please join us to hear leading art historian Dr Richard Haese explore the landmark exhibition, The Field, as we celebrate the 50th anniversary of this remarkable showcase.

Wednesday 18 October 11:00am

Our Art Forum is a weekly public lecture series for La Trobe students and open to the community.

Wednesday 11 October 11:00am

Our Art Forum is a weekly public lecture series for La Trobe students and open to the community.

Wednesday 04 October 11:00am

Our Art Forum is a weekly public lecture series for La Trobe students and open to the community.

Monday 25 September 09:00am

Come to campus and chat with us about your future study plans.

Thursday 21 September 10:00am

Centre for the Study of the Inland Symposium Series

Wednesday 20 September 04:30pm

Optimization in the Darkness of Uncertainty: When you don't know what you don't know, and what you do know isn't much!

Wednesday 20 September 11:00am

Our Art Forum is a weekly public lecture series for La Trobe students and open to the community

Thursday 14 September 02:45pm

To conclude the Research Showcase event, Prof Tony Bacic, Director, La Trobe Institute of Agriculture and Food, will give a public lecture titled “The Future of Agricultural Production Systems – a Scientist’s Perspective!”

Thursday 14 September 05:30pm

Art exhibition by La Trobe School of Creative Arts

Wednesday 13 September 11:00am

Our Art Forum is a weekly public lecture series for La Trobe students and open to the community

Saturday 09 September 12:00am

An exhibition by La Trobe creative arts honours student, and winner of the 2016 Julie Miller Markoff Visual Arts Award, Mici Boxell.

Wednesday 06 September 11:00am

Our Art Forum is a weekly public lecture series for La Trobe students and open to the community.

Wednesday 30 August 11:00am

Our Art Forum is a weekly public lecture series for La Trobe students and open to the community.

Sunday 27 August 10:00am

You’ve done the research and read the guides… now see what university is really like.

Wednesday 23 August 11:00am

Our Art Forum is a weekly public lecture series for La Trobe students and open to the community.

Wednesday 16 August 11:00am

Our Art Forum is a weekly public lecture series for La Trobe students and open to the community.

Wednesday 09 August 11:00am

Our Art Forum is a weekly public lecture series for La Trobe students and open to the community.

Wednesday 05 July 03:00pm

Breaking Down Barriers

Saturday 24 June 12:00am

Featuring Hannah Bertram, Daniel Boyd, Deidre But-Husaim, Penny Byrne and Victoria Reichelt. LAI Gallery, 121 View Street, Bendigo.

Tuesday 13 June 05:30pm

Join La Trobe University Vice Chancellor’s Fellow Michael Malthouse as he discusses how contemporary leaders and teams can work together to achieve optimal results.

Tuesday 13 June 12:00am

A photomedia exhibition showcasing student work, investigating themes inherent in lens-based media that include notions of time, memory and death.

Saturday 10 June 04:00pm

The Alumni and Advancement Office along with the Bendigo Campus extends an invitation to all current and past staff of La Trobe University, Bendigo Campus and it's antecedent institutions to attend a reunion to be held on Saturday, 10 June 2017.

Wednesday 31 May 02:30pm

This seminar will examine how a prominent Chinese herbalist used architecture to forge a successful medical career in nineteenth-century Victoria.

Monday 08 May 06:00pm

SOLD OUT Seeing Round Corners—Bendigo, Australia and a World in Transition

Thursday 04 May 05:30pm

Health, Law and Sexuality - a lecture by the Hon. Michael Kirby

Tuesday 18 April 08:00pm

Get the inside information on the imposing House of Mirrors installation, from artists Christian Wagstaff and Keith Courtney. This event is an LAI Exhibiting Culture lecture in connection with the Bendigo Gallery House of Mirrors installation.

Friday 17 March 10:00am

Mining for art

Wednesday 15 March 11:30am

Centre for the Study of the Inland - seminar series

Contact us

For more information on events at the Bendigo campus, please contact:
T: (03) 5444 7374
E: bendigo-events@latrobe.edu.au