Alumni Dinner 2011

The 2011 La Trobe University Alumni Dinner and presentation of awards

On Monday 15 August, senior staff, friends and VIP guests of La Trobe University enjoyed a special evening at ZINC at Federation Square, to celebrate the achievements of our most distinguished alumni. The event was hosted by prominent ABC journalist Heather Ewart and La Trobe University Chancellor Adrienne E Clarke AC presented each of our recipients with their awards.

The evening was a true celebration of these extraordinary individuals who have each gone on to make their mark in the world, and who embody the ‘infinite possibilities’ that can be realised through study and research.

Our award recipients included Kon Karapangiotidis OAM, who was recognised for setting up the nation’s largest aid agency, Dr Patricia Edgar AM for her global influence on children’ media, Linda Beilarz for her community development and arctic expedititions, and Dr Tony Radford for his international biotechnology company lauded for its life-saving TB diagnostics.

Dr Yong Cai and David Atkin were acknowledged for their significant leadership capabilities; Dr Cai for leading the billion dollar synchotron in the US and David for heading up a $17 billion superannuation fund and pioneering ethical and sustainable investment practices.